Tag Archives: Miesha Tate

Marloes Coenen vs Miesha Tate Official for Strikeforce: Columbus

MMA Junkie Reports:

Marloes Coenen

-18-4-0 MMA/ 2-1 Strikeforce Record

– Won 2 of last 3 Fights

– Notable Wins: Roxanne Modafferi, Sarah Kaufman

Miesha Tate

– 11-2-0 MMA/ 4-1 Strikeforce Record

– 5 Fight Win Streak

– Notable Wins: Hitomi Akano, Zoila Frausto, Jan Finney


Newly-crowned Strikeforce’s 135-pound champion, Marloes Coenen defends her title for the first time against Miesha Tate at Strikeforce: Columbus. The event takes place on March 5th at the Nationwide Arena in Columbus, Ohio.

Marloes Coenen got her first shot at Strikeforce gold in January of last year against the 145-pound juggernaut, Cristiane ‘Cyborg’ Santos. Although she suffered a TKO loss, Coenen was awarded a title shot at her natural fighting weight against Sarah Kaufman. Coenen took the title from Kaufman after locking an armbar in the third round, forcing the tap.

Miesha Tate earned a shot at the title after winning a one-night four-woman tournament last August. She defeated Maiju Kujala in the opening round, and then went on to beat Hitomi Akano by unanimous decision in the finals. Tate has won nine out of her last ten fights, dropping a decision to Sarah Kaufman in May of 2009.

Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2011 in News, Strikeforce


Tags: , , , ,

Strikeforce Challengers 10 Quick Results


  • Joe Riggs def. Louis Taylor via submission (punches) – Round 3, 2:07
  • Miesha Tate def. Hitomi Akano via unanimous decision (no scores announced)*
  • Ryan Couture def. Lucas Stark via submission (triangle choke) – Round 1, 1:15
  • Hitomi Akano def. Carina Damm via submission (triangle choke) – Round 2, 1:48^
  • Miesha Tate def. Maiju Kujala via unanimous decision (no scores announced)
  • Liz Carmouche def. Colleen Schneider via unanimous decision
  • Chris Gruetzemacher def. Ryan Diaz via TKO (doctor stoppage) – Rd. 1
  • Jason Richey def. Edmund Xehilli via majority decision
  • Joel Champion def. Sean Scott via KO (punches) – Rd. 1, 1:06
  • Rob Anderson def. Alonzo Fears-Dull via unanimous decision
  • Andres Acuna def. Edwin Louis via unanimous decision
  • Frankie Saenz def. Jace Crawford via unanimous decision



Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2010 in Quick Results, Strikeforce


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Strikeforce Challengers VII Weigh-In Results


  • Lavar Johnson (241) vs. Lolohea Mahe (267)*
  • Abongo Hunphrey (203.6) vs. George Bush III (206)
  • Luke Stewart (171.2)* vs. Andre Galvao (170.4)
  • Zoila Frausto (132.4) vs. Miesha Tate (136)
  • Justin Wilcox (160.8) vs. Shamar Bailey (161)


  • Daniel Cormier (242) vs. John Devine (253.2)
  • Paul Ruiz (134.8) vs. TBA
  • Trinidad Valdez (168) vs. Ricky Jackson (169)
  • Avery Kaleo (143.2) vs. Chris Buron (144)
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 26, 2010 in News, Strikeforce


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,